McEwan All Access

I was lucky enough to spend this past Tuesday night at the amazing North 44, rubbing elbows with 29 fellow Toronto food lovers, and meeting both renowned Chef Mark McEwan and Top Chef Canada contestant Jonathan Goodyear!

I typically avoid events like this where I have to attend solo, but I’ve been trying really hard to push myself out of my comfort zone socially so this seemed like a good start.

I was handed a delicious glass of Pinot Noir within a minute of stepping into the beautiful private dining space and began to mingle. Soon enough, the food started to come out. It was ALL amazing. My favourites included a cold vegetarian roll, miso glazed cod, and amazing prawns. (Not pictured below as I was too busy stuffing my face with them.)

Mark addressed us all early on in the evening to welcome us, and I think everyone got a chance to chat with him and take a picture with him at some point. I had a nice quick chat with him and was impressed by how normal and down to earth he seemed to be, given his somewhat intimidating nature on Top Chef.

2013-04-10

Clockwise: 1) Spanish pressed burgers with manchego cheese and tempura onion ring 2) A sampling of passed appetizers 3) Chocolate torte with banana and creme fraiche  4) Me with Jonathan Goodyear 5) Mark McEwan addressing the crowd

The McEwan Group and Branding and Buzzing did such a great job with this first social event. I can’t wait to see what they do going forward.

Are you a Top Chef Canada fan? Have you been to any of McEwan’s restaurants?

Leave a Reply

