Review: Body Combat

Wooo! At last my first review post is here! This week I checked out a Body Combat class (for my first time ever) at one of my local Goodlife Fitness locations.

BodyCombat Logo

The LesMills site describes BodyCombat as a “fiercely energetic program is inspired by martial arts and draws from a wide array of disciplines such as karate, boxing, taekwondo, tai chi and muay thai. Supported by driving music and powerful role model instructors, you strike, punch, kick and kata your way through calories to superior cardio fitness.”. In plain English, it is basically a martial arts inspired high intensity cardio workout to music.  Classes are about an hour long, stretching included and available at most, if not all, Goodlife Fitness locations.

When I showed up on a chilly Wednesday morning at 8:30 am, I was less than pleased to discover I was the only person who hadn’t tried it before. I may as well have shouted, “Please watch me fumble awkwardly for an hour!”. The instructor let me know that it typically takes about 5 classes to get into the swing of things and that if I got lost, I should just keep moving.

We got right into things with two warm-up tracks that I felt were more like a light work-out than anything, but hey, I guess that is what you sign up for with high intensity! From there we moved into progressively more intense tracks with punching and kicking combinations that varied in difficulty.

I admit, I totally agree with the learning curve suggestion set out, as I did have some difficulty following all of the combinations and fell off tempo at times until I could jump back in. But, it was a really fun, sweaty and intense work-out. And at times, pretty fun to imagine you’re holding someone down and punching them in the face…not that I would ever do something like that in real life, but hey, we all have aggression some days!

The class included a good mix of people of age, gender, and abilities and the instructor was great about mentioning modifications every now and then, as there is a lot of jumping around, high impact type moves that could be difficult or even dangerous for some with particular joint issues.

Overall, this was definitely a solid, high intensity cardio workout that is definitely a challenge. I’ve included a LesMills video below with short BodyCombat “demo”, though I’m absolutely certain I looked nothing like this while in class.

Note: I was very very sore the next day.

Cost: Included in your membership, so free if you’re a member. For membership prices, I’d contact Goodlife directly, as everyone I talk to who is a member appears to pay a different monthly price depending on the circumstances under which they signed up.

Levels recommended for: Anyone looking to challenge their cardio fitness, and maybe even those who have a little bit of extra aggression to spell off. If you’re new to group exercise, I might try some of their lower intensity cardio classes before heading into this one.

Notes: Bring water and don’t worry too much if you have trouble picking up the combinations at first. Wear solid, supportive shoes as there is a lot of jumping around and lateral movement. The running specific shoes I wore didn’t quite cut it.

Disclosure: I’m a Goodlife Fitness member and have been for years, thus I pay for my membership and receive no incentive for posting about their classes. 

Leave a Reply

